William J Hammon
1 min readAug 1, 2023

--

I think the best course would have been to keep a focus on Gloria and Sasha's relationship using Barbie as a conduit for progressive change. I love the idea of Barbie taking them to Barbieland, and I think the angle of how Barbie is idealized versus how the real world treats women would have been an intriguing angle to explore through their generational points of view. Maybe this leads to a bit more conscious worldview from the rest of the Barbies, maybe it reinforces the status quo. I trust Gerwig as a writer and expert at character development to steer clearer of more problematic waters. The sweet spot I feel is a more thoughtful examination of aspirational play, but at the core I think this would have approached perfection if we had stayed with the main story we started, rather than the somewhat tonal whiplash of the Ken Rebellion. To each their own, though. I still thoroughly enjoyed the experience despite its minor flaws.

--

--

William J Hammon

All content is from the blog, “I Actually Paid to See This,” available at actuallypaid.com